BC Government Announces New Cabinet with Jobs Focus

News Releases

Victoria, March 14, 2011 – The BC Chamber of Commerce today welcomed the announcement of the new cabinet from Premier Christy Clark.

“I am sure that the over 32,000 businesses who are members of Chambers of Commerce across the province will share our pleasure with the focus placed on jobs and the economy,” said John Winter, President & CEO of the BC Chamber of Commerce.  “BC’s productivity problem can be addressed by this combination of cabinet portfolios focused on business issues.”

Winter noted that the number of Ministers with strong business backgrounds can only be an asset in this area.

The Chamber network was particularly pleased to see Hon. Naomi Yamamoto (North Vancouver/Lonsdale) and Hon. Steve Thomson (Kelowna-Mission), both past Chairs and Governors of the BC Chamber of Commerce, being reappointed to ministerial positions.  Minister Yamamoto now takes on the portfolio of Advanced Education, and Minister Thomson assumes responsibility for Forests, Lands & Natural Resource Operations.

“The cabinet choices made by Premier Clark reflect stability, and we look forward to working with this cabinet as they lead this province forward,” stated Winter. “In particular, we will be engaging with Minister Falcon on the issue of ensuring a successful HST Referendum, and with Minister Chong to address the creation of a Municipal Auditor General.”

“Government must continue to focus on the serious issue of increased spending around healthcare,” continued Winter. “As such, we are pleased to see the Health portfolio going to Mike de Jong, well suited to tackle this issue.”

- 30 -

The New Cabinet is:

  • Premier – Hon. Christy Clark
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance – Hon. Kevin Falcon
  • Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation – Hon.  Mary Polak
  • Minister of Advanced Education – Hon. Naomi Yamamoto
  • Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Don McRae
  • Attorney General – Hon. Barry Penner
  • Minister of Children and Family Development – Hon. Mary McNeil
  • Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development – Hon. Ida Chong
  • Minister of Education – Hon. George Abbott
  • Minister of Energy and Mines & Minister Responsible for Housing – Hon. Rich Coleman
  • Minister of Environment – Hon. Terry Lake
  • Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations – Hon. Steve Thomson
  • Minister of Health – Hon. Michael de Jong
  • Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation – Hon. Pat Bell
  • Minister of Labour, Citizens’ Services and Open Government – Hon. Stephanie Cadieux
  • Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General – Hon. Shirley Bond
  • Minister of Social Development & Multiculturalism – Hon. Harry Bloy
  • Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure – Hon. Blair Lekstrom

For more information on this issue please contact;

John Winter
President & CEO
BC Chamber of Commerce
C 604.376.3577